error: out of disk.

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Postby srwalbridge » Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:46 pm

Ok, I am completely new to Linux so please be gentle.

I'm trying to bin MS Windows and managed to successfully installed Unbuntu 9 on a spare 250GB drive. This worked fine but, as it had been superceded by 10.04 by that time, I found I was unable to access the software repository. I therefore grasp the nettle tried installing 10.04 LTS from LXF's live CD as a new install over the whole hdd. This time, although I could run ubuntu from the live CD and it appeared to have installed normally, when I tried to boot I got the following error:

Booting from local disk...
grub recue>

After a bit of fiddling I gave up and waited for the next version of ubuntu to come out thinking it was an installation problem.
So, now I have installed 10.10 with the same result. All the files appear to be on the hdd, it works fine from the live CD but, I still get the error msg given above.

Any idea's why I can't get grub work and boot ubuntu 10.10?
srwalbridge

Postby Captain_Tux » Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:34 pm

Seems like a problem with Grub 2.

I don't have access to my links, but Google around and you should be able to find a fix.
Captain_Tux
LXF regular

Postby bobthebob1234 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:26 pm

For certain you have to be lost to find the places that can't be found. Elseways, everyone would know where it was
bobthebob1234
LXF regular

Postby srwalbridge » Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:18 pm

Hello again. Thanks for the pointers but unfortunately I am not making much progress here.

I installed PCLinuxOS, which also uses Grub as the bootloader, just to prove to myself that it wasn't something going on with the hardware. This installed and booted fine from the new hdd.

I then removed all the partitions and did a new install of Ubuntu 10.10 onto the same drive. Again

Booting from local disk...
grub rescue>